Today in 1870, U.S. President Ulysses S. Grant signed into law a bill proposed by Congressman William Lawrence, creating the United States Department of Justice. The U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary, led by Congressman Lawrence, conducted an inquiry into the creation of a “law department” headed by the Attorney General and also composed of the various department solicitors and United States attorneys. On February 19, 1868, Lawrence introduced the bill in Congress to create the Department of Justice.


Image Credit: gCaptain